jueves, 26 de mayo de 2011

Thursday

Hola amigos,

So far today has been a pretty good day. Had class from 9:30-12:00 this morning. While I was walking to class this poor womans shoe broke and tripped in front of me. She had one of those raised up sandals with the stretchy strap that goes over your feet and the shoe like broke in half and she ate it pretty hard. I felt so bad I kept asking her if she was okay and she just like stared at me really embarrassed...awkward.

So after class I went on a run before lunch and ended up finding this really cool trail that leads to the hills and reminded me alot of Briones in California. I came a long this old man with his dog and said hola to him and when I ran passed him he was yelling something at me but I had my ear phones on so I thought he was talking to his dog. When I came back I saw him again and he told me something which I could barely understand but I feel like it was something about only cars go on this road..which doesnt make any sense because he was walking with his dog and there were two guys before him just walking. Plus before I went on the road there were no signs that stated I could not run or walk or anything on that road. So i just said gracias and kept running. I have a feeling he just didnt like me because I was obviously American and he was probably trying to scare me away but yeaaa that road was awesome with some good training hills so ill def be back!

Lunch was bueno. We eat a lot of pasta salads here with egg whites and tuna. I wrote this note to my madre before I left to go running that I am running and there was not a market today because the queen was coming. But supposedly I butchered my grammar because at lunch it was like placed on the table and everyone was staring at it and talking about it which I could barely understand what they were saying..so that was really embarrassing. Kind of getting sick of being in a country where I cant fluently speak the language. Its just really frusterating when I cant understand what they say at dinner because they talk sooo fast. All i hear is just like one word and when i process the first sentence they are already onto the 3rd. So I have days where I kind of just give up because I get really tired and sick of not being able to understand.

After lunch I took the dog on a walk i finally figure out what type of dog it is. Its a palmaranian. And whenver it pees it does this really wierd thing where it lifts both of its legs and is doing like a hand stand on its two front legs....didnt even know dogs were capable of that. wierd! Walker her made me miss truffle..not how hard truffle pulls though. This dog I was in charge..complete opposite with truffle.

So as I was running today i realized i live right next to a jail. Little freaky but im hoping segovia doesnt have horrible crime so the people in there probably (hopefully) have not done really bad crimes.

Later im going to see this russian ballet thing thats playing in Segovia and the queen of spain is going to be there! Word is is that shes very nice and i guess she was a greek princess and when she married the now a day King she didnt even know spanish. Im hoping ill either get to meet her or most likely just get a glimpse of the lady.
Ill let you know what happens!

love linnea

miércoles, 25 de mayo de 2011

Mas Segovia..

Soo yesterday was a really cool day! We went to the glass factory that was about 20 minutes outside of Segovia called Granja then we went to a restaurant and then we went to a Whiskey Factory. The Glass Factory was really interesting. They only make glass perfume bottles and isolators for machines. But just seeing how the machines work was crazy. The ovens get up to 1200 degrees Celcius and then drop the hot liquid into this shaper which cuts it into the shape that it needs to be. It was so loud in there we had to wear ear phones. Also they try to have zero pollution. I cant remember what the pollution percentage was but it was almost 0%, i cant remember what they said about how they recycle but I think it was something with how they make the heat. Also the factory is open 24/7 year round because I guess it costs a lot of money to turn the huge ovens back on. I would show you guys pictures but they prohibited picture taking. But I did get a free bottle of carolina herrera, which I had no idea who she was until this tour because perfumes usually make me feel sick but this one smells really good!

We then went to this restaurant which was very yummy. It had a really cool name it was called El Chorrillo..which also means "spill". I dont know why you would name your restaurant that because it sounds really dirty but hey its spain they do what they want. But the restaurant was far from dirty, it was more near the mountains so we had a view of the mountains from the windows which were covered in ivy..really pretty. I had a salad which had tuna, egg whites, lettuce, olives, tomatoes, carrots, and i sprinkled some salt and olive oil on it it was really good! Then for the main I had roast beef covered in salsa and some frieds..very yummy as well. Dessert I had chocolate mousse which was the yummiest of all!

We then went to the Whiskey factory. Once again we were not able to take pictures but I tried to sneak some. It was really interesting to learn about Whiskey because I had no idea how it was made. The man who started this Whiskey DYC company near Segovia, made it accidently he made some bad beer and tried fermenting it longer and realized it tasted like the whiskey he had in Scotland. So he went back to Scotland and tried to get some secrets and came back to spain and started experimenting. I guess this whiskey is considered more "cheap" compared to other whiskeys but is still good. I didnt realize you made whiskey about the same way you make beer. So first you have your barley which you let sit for about 8 to 14 days which is called "malting". And you have to let it germinate, but you have to keep mixing it around otherwise the bottom will rot. Then you grind it up, and then you mix it with hot water and kind of make a mush. I think you set it for like 95 degrees. Then you let the fermentation process begin. This is when you add yeast, and by doing this there is a reaction with the wort (barley) which makes alcohol! (you guys prob new this but i had no idea! soo cool) And all of these processes are the same as beer making up to this point. The difference is that you then distill the Whiskey after the fermentation. Beer you instead add hops and other tasty ingredients. So the Whiskey gets distilled in which the alcohol and water gets separated in these things called Stills. Water evaporates at 100% and alcohol at 80%. So they raise the temperature so only the alcohol will raise up into these Stills. At this point the whiskey is like 80 proof so they usually add water to lessen the concentration. Then they age it for atleast!! 3 years. And to be considered whiskey it has to have 40% alcohol in it. So hopefully you guys learned something new today! I thought it was really interesting even though I dont like whiskey..

Soo we had a whiskey tasting afterwards in which I made myself at least try, but I thought for a minute there my insides were going to come back up. Not the drink for me but my professor liked it. I think he had like 2 full cups overall..el es muy loco!

Went back to Segovia after that, I bought some shorts because my madre doesnt really do my laundry much. I really dont mind doing my own laundry but she refuses to let me help but its a little frustrating because I need clean clothes! Typically, today she gave me all my clean clothes after I bought the shorts but they werent to expensive so its all good.

Today was the first day we ate fish, all the other students keep talking about how they eat way to much seafood and they keep telling their parents they dont like it but they just keep feeding it to them anyways. But this fish didnt even taste like fish. It was like a tuna covered in this tomato sauce with mashed potatoes and of course a baguet. YUM.

Supposedly the Queen of Spain is coming to Segovia thursday for this russian ballet that is near the aqueduct so it will be free for everyone to go watch. So im def going to go to that! Ooo and ofcourse the market is tomorrow in which im going to buy many many yummy pastries. So excited..

Well today was a usual day ran, school, its now siesta and then were going to check out a museo (museum) later.. soo ill letcha know how that goes! Hopefully you guys are doing well miss you!

love linnea

lunes, 23 de mayo de 2011

First Weekend in Spain! Cuidado: long post

Hola amigos, sorry I havent written the past couple of days been pretty busay.

Soo Saturday I went to some castles, wine factory, a restauraunt, and this city that was walled in around Segovia. The wine factory was really cool, learned about the whole process of the winery and what not. Still confused on what the winery was called because all the bottles had different names but I feel like it was called Bodega..? I dont know. But the winery only put on white wines. We had a wine tasting at the end and it was so delicous! Tasted like I was drinking fresh cool flowery grapes every sip. After the winery we hit up some more castles. I would put pictures on here but ofcourse I forgot my memory card for my camera for the trip so i am getting pictures from others. The castles were really cool, very old, and very medieval feeling. They all had motes, and the bridge doors that come down. This one castle had this room where they put prisoners..the only opening was a hole about 20 feet up (no windows doors nothing). If the prisoner was really bad they would throw them down there...would not want to live in those times. There was also this really cool room where if you talked from one corner into the wall and your friend was directly across from you they could you hear like your talking on a cell phone. After the fun castles we went to this small town restaurant. I got this bean soup which is really popular in Segovia, the beans are literally 1 inches long..longest beans I have ever seen!! I just started adapting beans into my new lists of foods im accepting..so it was a little intense but really good! Then we had lamb which was amazzingg because it was like falling off the bone and ofcourse a lot of bread wine and water. Flan was for dessert but wasnt really good because it was way to eggy.

We then headed over to the walled in city. This was the COOLEST little village I have ever been too sooo mad i didnt have a camera. So the city has one entrance and its prob a couple acres big. At the end of it is the castle and behind the castle is just miles and miles of hills and farmland and then in the distance the mountains that surround segovia. The coolest part of this village though was that there were stork nests everywhere!!! I know what your thinking...there must be alot of babies right!? No..i guess that was all a lie. This was my first time ever seeing a stork and seeing a a 3 foot long 2 foot wide nests everywhere was pretty amazing. They were all ontop of the highest part of the castles and highest part of the churches there. And you could even see the little babies in them! Storks are so beautiful they def have made my #1 bird on my favorite birds..which prob isnt that big of a deal because I have no favorite birds but in conclusion storks are beautiful/coolest birds ever.

After this long/hot day which I felt extremely exhausted/dehydrated on the bus back.. Oh forgot to tell you guys the buses here are manual.. YES they are manual the big tour buses are freaking manual. You should have seen our driver he was flying through these tiny little villages we all thought we were gonna hit like 10 houses but somehow he always made it. Very impressive.

So we got to SEgovia and me and my friend Jamie went straight to the bus to catch for Madrid. Ofcourse I got another migraine (damn these migraines!!) but luckily I did find my excedrin migraine and was able to take that and felt better. Getting to madrid and to the hostel was probably the biggest big girl thing I have yet to do in my life. I am very proud of myself I have to say. O side note: we didnt know where the bus was dropping us off in Madrid so we asked the couple in front of us on the bus we ended up talking to the father (65 year old, austrian from salzburg) the whole bus ride about all sorts of places hes been and his job and stuff. Guess he worked with a machine company in Salzburg and worked with Ford in the US in designing motors..really smart kind man! Made me want to visit Austria even more! And the best thing about this is that he gave me his address and phone #, so if i am ever in Salzburg I have someone to give me a free tour! schweet.
So we get off the bus and we had no idea where we were. So luckily the security guard at the bus station had a iphone (thank god for technology) and he told us what metro we had to get off at. So once we found the metro station we then again had to ask this woman what stations to take to get to is metro station...also keep in mind there was hundreds of people running and walking around us to get into the Metro. So finally we get on the right metros and finally make it to the Hostel area. Street names in Spain are stupid, they are so hard to see and are just very very confusing. It took us like 30 mins to find this one street and for some reason no one knew where it was. At the same time we were def in the inner city and def stood out as tourists so we just really wanted to get to the Hostel. Finally we found the freaking place and it was really nice, never had been to a hostel but this one was really nice. We met her friends and we all stayed in a mixed dorm. There was a mom and son and a french couple that stayed there. There was also this guy who like slept for a day and half in his day clothes..so we dont know why or what happened to him. The hostel was throwing a Pub Crawl where you pay 10 euros and go to 3 bars and discoteca and you get free drinks. This was a very good deal because we did not have to wait in lines or pay covers for these bars and drinks are usually 6 euros. There were other hostels doing it too so it was fun meeting people our age from around the world.

Next day we headed back to Segovia very tired and I went on a run and tried to find a rock climbing wall and im pretty sure its closed because I couldnt find it anywhere :-( sad day. But atleast I have been running everyday so im staying in somewhat sort of shape.

I think my family thinks im very amusing because three times today i would give them answers to things that they already said. Like they asked me if my birthday was the 6th i thought they asked me if it was the 23rd..so i said no the 6th. And they started laughing..I wanted to be like o i thought you said the 23rd but ive given up on trying to explain myself because what usually happens is them thinking I said even something else and then i get even more frusterated because i have to explain myself again They keep getting mad at me because I always say I dont care what I eat, but i feel bad just going in there kitchen and eating stuff when ive only been here a week. I will eat anything they put on my plate so thats why I usually say I will eat whatever. I appreciate there niceness but I just feel bad eating things out of their fridge. Ate this amazing ham sandwich for dinner, the ham here is nothing like in the US, doesnt even look like it or taste like it. It looks like a raw piece of bacon but tastes like preshetta...idk but its amazing with some baguet! nomm

I still cant get over that I can i just walk on the streets if there is a walk cross and cars have to stop. I just dont trust the cars because they come so fast but there breaks are amazing they stop on a dime. But I always wave them to go and they get sooo mad and like start honking at me to walk.. haha complete opposite than the US. Jaywalking is purely legal here.

I have come to the conlusion that spanish children are the cutest children in the world. There are so many little spanish kids like 2-5 age range that are sooo freaking cute. The boys talk and dress like theyre old spanish grandpas or something its so funny. And all the girls are just so cute and have these stylish outfits. For some reason when they speak too, i think its their high voices.

Tomorrow i am going to a glass factory and a whiskey distillery! Im really excited..if anyone wants whiskey ( i dont like it ) but send me an email and I will buy you some! its prob very cheap because the wine was like 5 euros per bottle.

Well other than being busy segovia is still my #1 city i love in Spain..then again I have only been to two so I dont have much to compare it to. Im going to barcelona in 2 weeks for the weekend with the group i am sooo excited!!! And kevin is meeting us there to soo its going to be a good time! Madrid was a HUGE city. Like i have never experienced such a big city before it was a little overwhelming..way too many people for my taste. But very beautiful, but segovia is a very tranquil life that i like much better!

Love and miss you guys!
linnea

viernes, 20 de mayo de 2011

Es viernes chicos!!

Ill start off this blog with the 14 year old in my apartment was playing today lol very catchy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uua2pZ3MzQ

Oh by the way he says eh im drunk..

Right now im sitting with her in the living room listening to some crazy european/spanish music..and cocoas trying to hump me again. But I think the funniness of it is making her and me bond a little more since we dont really talk much. Im loving all her music though im just kindof embarrased to ask her for every song because shes 14..but it makes me want to baile (dance)! Arriba!

Soo! today started off bueno..Woke up early and went on a 40 minute run around the city. For some reason I feel like I can run forever here I dont really get tired, if i had more time I would def be running for more than an hour but since I have class at 11:30, and I do things in the afternoon so I dont have that much time.

When I got home from school my madre told me she was having a stressful day so I helped her by taking the little dog Cocoa on a walk. We walked around for about 10 minutes and she already wanted to go back to the apartment..way different then truffle!

We had spaghetti and a baguet for Lunch, I felt like such a fatty because I finished my bowl and she always has leftovers so i got up to get some and she said we didnt have any left except fahtimas (teenagers) food..but I also ate her leftover food in the morning so haha i felt awkward eating her leftovers again. So i ate more empenadas (what i ate last night) yum yum. I eat so much here ill eat like a huge meal and then im hungry again. I think its cuz i run in the morning then all I do is walk everywhere the entire day.

Im excited because tomorrow im visiting some castles and then were going to a winery and we are having a wine tasting and going out a restaurant at the same time. Then later im going to Madrid for the night with my friend Jamie because shes meeting some friends and she had no one to go with. So its going to be a packed weekend!

I feel like im getting really close to the family everyday, Im starting to wish I was gonna be here for a semester because I know a month is going to fly by and im gonna miss this family so much :-(. My and the madre always get into long conversations at the meals and always waits for me at night when I come home. I feel like I already have a second family here! (emphasis on second howies ;-) )

I love walking home from class because everyones out going to Siesta and about 1 in every 3 people are holding baguets haha. Also as I was walking home I had a life thought and Im gonna think about majoring in Spanish, learning spanish in America I have to say made me not really like it because I always here mexicans speak it (which i found out spaniards think is really dirty slang spanish). But the language is so beautiful here I would love to come back fluent and actually be able to talk to my madre more. Its so frusterating because Im usually a very talkative person and I feel like they think im really shy but its just I cant think of the words or get them out right so sometimes I just dont say something I really want to say because it takes me like 15 minutes to explain it.

love you guys!
linnea

jueves, 19 de mayo de 2011

Rest of my day

Sooo after a lie down siesta turning into a 2 hour nap, I went running/more like a long walk with my friend Jamie. We were trying to find this trail that goes in the inside of segovia and runs along the river. We found it but we kindof got lost at the end up on the other side of the city. It turned out to be good because we saw parts of the city that we have never seen before and it was really pretty. We ran into some other people in our group when we walked back and decided to get some coffee/ice cream with them. I got a cone of chocolate and strawberry ice cream. The cone looked normal on the outside and then when they pulled it out of the box it was it it was like 7 inches long!

So after a scrumptious ice cream session we all went back for dinner which is always 9 or 10. The days here last forever, because ill get up around 8 to go running and then Ill eat then Ill go to class then eat at 230 then wonder the city till 8 or 9 then go out again after dinner! Ayayaii!
I had this meal called impenada for dinner sooooo good. Its wierd the dinners here arent a big deal so they just like eat whatever (basically like the lunch in the US)but these things were amazingg! They are like two really light croissant type breads and in the middle of them is sausage, tomato, vegetables, and some other stuff i dont know. But its so yummy. Its kindof like a calzone but super super thin like a panini but 50 times better.
I had a long conversation with my madre tonight at dinner (in spanish too!, well she doesnt speak english but i wanted to stress it because i held the conversation! lol)about how shes had all these teenagers come stay with her and come home drunk and throw up everywhere and stuff. She said she had someone stay with her that was 26 and came home and just laid on the floor and idndt move. I think she really likes me because I told Im not really a drinker I just enjoy like one glass and ever since then shes been like goo out! Other americans are muy estupido sometimes! balle!(im making a new definition of this word and you guys can guess)

After dinner we went to the wine bar but I didnt get anything because I had a migraine coming on. How do i know this? Because my left eye was completely worthless portraying everything in waves that I saw. So i popped 4 pills of my best friend ibprofen and was good to go. I got water and ofcourse theygive you water in like the smallest glasses ever so i kept asking...and finally the waitor was like mas agua!?( more water?) and i stopped asking after that because i was embarrassed.

Def getting in a good run tomorrow around the city in the morning. Im going to hope that nap today cured my jet lag. My madre tried to explain to me good places to run so if I heard them correctly im going to go that direction tomorrow (most likely i heard wrong though sooo well see where it takes me)

Cultural Learning Experience: In latino countries when you tell someone they are cute I cant remember what you say but you dont say what you say in Spain. Here you say ah que mano! which means what a monkey!! So my profesor told us a story about how this girl after spain went to Mexico and saw this woman with this cute little baby....i think you all know where im going with this one lol basically she told the lady her baby was a monkey and the lady freaked out and walked away.

Accomplishment of the Day: finally remembered how to say "tengo llena" which means im full. Ive been forgetting this word for some reason since i got here. I said it today and my whole family starting applauding me..hahaa

Progress on my euro collecting: up to 30 euro cents holla!

Reality check on my spanish (no es bueno): I thought my padres have been telling me there daugther fatimah shes 14, is going to france this weekend because they keep talking about it everyday. I told them today thats so exciting i bet shes really excited, what time is she gonna leave and stuff? And they were so confused..i guess she just had a french test tomorrow on friday. Could be worse though I went to my friend Jamies and the first thing her madre tells me is in spanish..Jamie never understands me and I cant really understand her. Hahaa

I forgot to tell you guys! Everyone here is so tiny and small...kristen you would fit in here perfectly. My feet hang of the bed, and I like am the same height as my padre.

okay im tired, hopefully you guys are enjoying my randomness entries in here sorry this is so long! miss you very much and wish you were experiencing these things with me!!

buenos noches mi amores!
linnea

One moreee...tiny (very very tiny)annoyance i have with segovia

I really suck at putting everything on one blog email..i just keep thinking of stuff randomly.

So if you have allergies do not come here. Pollen floats in the air and is the size of a cotton ball. If its windy it looks like its snowing its crazy! and they get stuck in your eyes its very painful. There is so much pollen that they have cleaners clean the side walks everyday like leaves.

Also spaniards cannot walk in a straight line, i am constantly dodging people on the streets, they have no rules for walking they just walk everywhere. Que horible!

Spanish word of the day: Valle

valle..pronounced bayay...people say it like no other here. And not only do they say it they yell it. So i think i have found 4 definitions of it so far but im still confused. I know it means okay, or do you understand?, or i understand, or shutup/be quiet. But it is always said in the same voice/pitch. So i never know if my mom is yelling at me to shut up, asking if i understand?, or agreeing with me. Usually i can figure this out because ofcourse of the context but when i do not know whats going on..gets a little confusing.