martes, 17 de mayo de 2011

Second day in Segovia!

Today was a beautiful day! I woke up early so I could go on a run.  I ran for about 30 minutes to a part of the city I did not know and having the mountains in the background was so beautiful it definitely was worth my altitude and jet lag horrible run feeling that was going on in my body.  I came back and asked my madre (mother) if I could take a shower and she said some things about the shower that I halfly understood and responded in esta beuno or si (thats good or yes).  I love there apartment even though it is so tiny it is so cute and european and it is all they need and thats what I love.  For breakfast I got coffee (yummy), this weird donut bread thing, orange juice (best orange juice I have ever drank) and a yummy banana.  As I hurried to class I met up with a friend to finish our tarea (homework) and realized I did all the wrong problems so I panicked a little re doing them, but luckily my profesor from NC State is really relaxed he didnt care.  My teacher from Spain is really nice/funny, he speaks really slow which is awesome because I can actually understand everything he says.

After class I went home and had this amazing lentil/potato thick soup with bread with the family.  Feeling a lot better today I actually was able to have full conversations with the Madre.  I found out no one speaks English here because there teachers are really bad.  They have to take english for 8 years, and still NO ONE not exaggerating knows english.  But im really happy no one does because im forced to find ways of describing words.  I have described words that I never thought I could describe them the way I do.

After Siesta the group went on a walk around the city, which was beautiful! We saw all of the surrounding farm land with the mountains in the background.  Also saw an amazing view of the Castle.  Also found this funny park with treadmills and wierd work out machines.

side note: spanish people do not believe in trash cans, ice cream wrappers are everywhere and at bars the ground is full of napkins/food remnants

another side note: Everyone thinks im german here, got a gutemorgen 2 times this morning

cultural note: Dont thank people here they look at you like your crazy, I thank my madre for everything and she always tells me to stop and gives me an angry look (im not gonna stop)

Im going to try to put pictures on here so you guys can see everything im talking about!

hasta manana chicos!
love linnea

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario